Owned by Thackeray Estates, Dover House is a heritage development comprising nine new luxury apartments that have been created in the prime location of Waterloo, London.
The refurbishment scheme commenced in late 2013 and is set to be finalised in early 2015. Main contractor Alberti Prime Construction transformed what was a language school successfully into the set of apartments, with MSJ Architects working on the design interior aspects.
The overhaul of the site involved a full internal refurbishment however the walls were retained. Half a million was spent on the external façade restoration and a new roof to finish. There were no alterations made to the existing car park however roof terraces and one green roof was integrated within the external areas of the building. The green roof serves a purpose of absorbing rainwater, providing insulation and creating a habitat for wildlife.
Premier Construction caught up with Director of Alberti Prime Construction, Antony Alberti, to find out more information on the apartments. Antony said:
“We haven’t really experienced any problems, for example we’ve not had access restrictions or occupants on site whilst works have been carried out. The project was a great opportunity and an important one for us, we love that the building contains a sense of history having been existent since 1894 and undergone several identities.
“The ground floor has been handed over to the Co-operative so that part of the building is now owned by the Co-op business, meaning that amenities are very close by, which is an advantage for the residents and other locals in the area.”
1894 was the year that London Architects Treadwell & Martin built the structure that became ‘The Old Dover Castle’, completed in 1895. The spectacular Victorian building underwent a renovation in 1923, becoming just ‘Dover Castle’ and brought into line with more modern catering possibilities. During the mid 60’s the hotel and restaurant closed, until 1996 when a language school commenced to operate within the Dover Castle walls. This took place until 2009 when the building sadly became vacant.
Privately owned London property estate Thackeray Estates, were then happy to lovingly restore such a historical and marvellous site in 2013, in partnership with Argent Design and Alberti Prime Construction. The architectural work of art is in the process of being transformed into a contemporary and plush new site over two levels. Sub-contractors also developing the building include Capital Stone, Lomax and Wood, Pool Brothers and Trad Scaffold to name but a few.
Stepping into the main reception lobby, residents are welcomed by a stunning polished stone floor and joinery feature wall, with LED down-lights and feature pendant lighting to give an added ambience to the entrance. Apartments are fitted with bespoke Intervari kitchens made with cashmir carbon and arctic white gloss units, polished concrete counters and integrated under-unit lighting. Appliances include a multi-functional oven, dishwasher and concealed extractor hood.
Bedrooms are lavishly complimented with imperial velvet carpets with extra thick underlay and bespoke fitted wardrobes with integrated illumination and feature bronze handles. Moving into the bathrooms and shower rooms, polished stone floors and bespoke fitted stone vanity units to match are in place. The over basin mirrors are lit up by dazzling illumination and luxurious walk-in showers with frameless glass enclosures await residents.
Stained oak timber flooring covers a lot of the site, offering a touch of sumptuousness beneath your very feet. Penthouses boast character stone flooring and feature skylights. Upon entering the apartments, a video entry phone system is in place to ensure safety and security.