Situated on the cliffs of Seaford and benefitting from truly breath taking views of Sussex, Seaford Head Golf Course is a stunning course popular with locals and golfing enthusiasts alike.
In order to improve the offering at the course, a project has recently been implemented to update facilities for all who attend the site.
The club house, situated just off Southdown Road will boast changing facilities, a full catering kitchen and bar, with an outside balcony. The lower ground floor of the building incorporates a limestone/gabion cage cladding, whilst the upper floor includes untreated horizontal timber boarding.
The building is being fitted out with double glazed windows, carpets and aluminium external doors. Additional features of the project include the installation of security systems, including CCTV, lighting and detection and alarm systems.
The new club house has been designed to provide a flexible space for both the public and local organisations – something which Seaford is currently in short supply of. In addition, the building includes a green roof – helping it to blend into its surroundings.
Seaford Town Council approved the construction of the new club house on June 14th 2012 after a period of four years of planning and design. The site’s new club house replaces a former facility which had reached the end of its life and was demolished.
Work began on the club house project in early 2013, with J Cheesmur & Sons (Lewes) Limited on board as the main contractor and project manager. The Miller Bourne Partnership has provided architectural services on the scheme, whilst Harper Landscape Architecture is the landscape architect on the scheme.
Throughout the construction process temporary accommodation has been in use, ensuring that existing golf club members could continue to make use of the course without any disruption.
Although the first report of golf being mentioned in Sussex took place in 1826, the first inaugural meeting of Seaford Golf Club occurred on 6th August 1887. This initial meeting was followed up on 8th September 1887 by the first official general meeting of the club and the golf course was born. Since this time the 18 hole course has continued to go from strength to strength, becoming an important part of the wider community.
Seaford Head Golf Club is accessible from the A259 and is clearly sign posted for those not familiar with the area. Lessons are available from PGA qualified coaches and throughout the winter months the club serves up its Winter Warmer package, which includes a bacon sandwich and coffee, 18 hole golfing and a choice of either ham, egg & chips or pie & chips.
For more information about Seaford Head Golf Course, please visit: www.seafordheadgolfcourse.co.uk or call the general enquiries line on 01323 890139.