UK Construction Week 2016


Transformation not restoration

By Mike Hempstock, J. Hempstock & Co Ltd The iconic Manchester Town Hall extension was built between 1934 and 1938 to provide additional accommodation to local government. Built in Manchester city centre it received Grade


Venetian grandeur

A $55 million restoration project of a Luxury Collection Hotel in Venice has been completed. Situated on the picturesque Grand Canal in Venice, the iconic Gritti Palace has finally reopened after a 15 month


Steaming back onto the scene

After a 12 year closure, the first of the world’s great railway hotels, the Great Northern Hotel, has re-opened its doors to guests. The move comes following a comprehensive £40 million renovation programme, which


Restoring HMS Alliance

A £7 million project to save HMS Alliance has entered its final stages. The project, which got underway in October 2011, was implemented to save and preserve the historic WWII era submarine, which is