NHBC Awards

NHBC Pride in the Job Awards 2013

NHBC Awards 2013

Over thirty years on from the first award ceremony, the NHBC Pride in the Job Awards remain the bench mark for best practice in UK construction. 

The annual competition was established with the aim of recognising and rewarding quality house building and, specifically, the role that site managers play. The awards were intended to shine a light on the UK’s best construction sites; developments which were tidy, well organised, well managed, disciplined and innovative.

Scores of site managers up and down the country have now received notification of their award and will soon be able to proudly display flags, banners and certificates bearing the NHBC logo on their development.

The awards are divided into three categories: Quality Awards, Seal of Excellence Awards and Regional Awards.

Winners in these categories are then entered for the UK Supreme Award. Supreme Award winners are the very best site managers in each of the three categories in the UK house-building industry. They are the people who have achieved the highest standard of excellence in site management. The winners are announced at a prestigious national ceremony held in London every January.

Judging takes place over an 18 month period with winners in each category being assessed by NHBC Regional Directors and independent experts. Site managers are scored against 38 pre-set questions to ensure consistency and fairness across the competition.

This month, Premier Construction features several one-on-one interviews with some of the lucky site managers to have received an award.

National House-Building Council: Assuring quality for over 75 years

To combat the shoddy building practices blighting interwar Britain, the National House Builders Registration Council (NHBRC) was founded in 1936 with the aim of increasing professionalism and improving standards across the industry.

The NHBRC achieved its aims by establishing an approved house builder register, by inspecting and certifying new houses as fit for purpose and by influencing legislation.

The registration process included an innovative warranty for buyers of certified houses which stated that defects arising from non-compliance with specifications during a two year period from date of purchase would be fixed by the builder, with NHBRC arbitrating in disputes. In 1965, this evolved into today’s ten-year Buildmark warranty.

Buildmark now covers over 80% of new UK houses, currently protecting 1.6 million homes. Nearly 8million homes have benefited so far, giving homeowners assurance and redress if things go wrong

Over 75 years on the National House-Building Council (NHBC) as it is now known, is the leading warranty and insurance provider and standards setter for UK house-building for new and newly converted homes.

As a non-profit distributing company, it reinvests all income in achieving its primary purpose; improving quality in house building to protect homeowners.

About the author

Roma Publications

Leave a Comment